Member Spotlights

Click on member name to view profile

Officers Executives
  • David A. Mc Clure
  • Robert  Burley
  • A. T.  Queen
  • Bertrand Deloatch
  • Olivia Whetstone
  • Leroy  K.  Carpenter
  • Gregory  M.  Diggs
  • Charletta  Carter
  • Jeffrey  Rice
  • Anthony  K.  Johnson

NEW Member pictures. Click here: ARCHIVES \ PHOTOS


Welcome to ATU

ATU Local 1300 Union, serving the Greater Baltimore region, is one of 264 local unions in 44 states and 9 provinces that comprise the Amalgamated Transit Union. The Amalgamated Transit Union, founded in 1892, is the largest transit labor organization in the United States and Canada with over 190,000 members.

ATU Local 1300 was founded on February 4, 1942 as Amalgamated Association of Street and Electric Railways Motor Coach Employees or otherwise known as AF of L. The Amalgamated Association of Street and Electric Railways Motor Coach was granted a charter for thirteen white male bus and trolley operators and conductors of the Baltimore Transit Company that established Division 1300. The names of the organizers were Clayton Perry, Frank Pennington, Theodore J. Peacock, John W. McHenry, William Matoska, Willis O. Dise, Edward G. Willis, Irvin F. Tawney, James E. Santmeyer, and Mr. Peter F. Kramer. Prior to the Baltimore Transit Company, the union members were part of the United Railways and Electric Company.

ATU Local 1300 has since grown to be a diverse organization representing men and women as well as individuals of a variety of ethnic backgrounds. The local union has over 3,000 members and is one of several local unions in the Mid-Atlantic region. The union serves the Baltimore community by providing transit, para-transit, school bus, commuter, shuttle, and intercity transportation options to residents and tourists. The ATU Local 1300 primarily serves the Maryland Transit Administration.

Current Officers and Executive Board Members of the ATU Local 1300 are David McClure, Robert Burley, Alnett Queen, Bertrand DeLoatch, Olivia Whitestone, Charletta Carter, Gregory Diggs, Anthony Johnson, Leroy Carpenter, Jeffrey Rice, and Larry Dunham.


Message from the President:

Reviewing the Past and Looking Forward


Read President’s Message